Bye bye Berlingo.

After being overwhelmed by the kind comments and tweets I received on and about my last post, I have decided that I love writing too much to stop blogging just because I no longer teach English in Berlin.

Thank you to all the people who said or wrote something to help me come to this decision because I’m excited about the next chapter now.

And that’s a nice book pun to lead me to introduce my new blog, which will remain a work in progress for some time:

publishingandpondering.wordpress.com

I toyed with lots of different ideas for names, the second favourite of which was The Cereal Linguist, but none of the others quite captured the essence of why I went to Berlin and what I do now. I got lucky in the discovery of a wonderful industry which I love working in, so if some of the lovely people I met from blogging within the English Language Teaching world are interested in knowing some more about what happens in a publishing company, then perhaps I can enlighten them in this new space.

And for people who don’t care about publishing, perhaps some of my other pontificating will be of interest. We’ll see! As one of the commenters on my last proper Berlingo post said ‘only write if you feel you have something to say’ – and I often have that feeling, so here goes Chapter 2!

Feel free to join me, or feel free to delete me from your blog roll: I shan’t be offended either way, but this will (almost certainly!) be the last post I write on this blog.

So goodbye, Berlingo18, it was great fun but now it’s time for a new adventure 🙂

Rachel, January 2016

About BerLingo

My name is Rachel, I am 25 and I love Germany. I studied German, Spanish and Italian at Durham University for four years, one of which I spent living in Europe, and then worked at Routledge academic publishing house for almost 3 years. Towards the end of 2014, I decided it was time to finally fulfil a long-held ambition to live in Berlin, and so in April 2015 I completed the CELTA qualification (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults, adminstered by Cambridge University) here in the German capital. Now qualified, my blog berlingo18.wordpress.com charts my experiences as a new English teacher in my favourite city... (More information about my plans can be found in my first ever blog post.)
This entry was posted in Blog, ELTchat, publishing, reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment