The magic of Berlin, according to one of my students

Considering I called my blog ‘Berlingo’ so that I can write about both ‘lingo’, or rather, English Language Teaching, and about my favourite city, I thought I had better get some more Berlin-related content up here!

This is a piece that one of my C1 students from one of CELTA Teaching Practices wrote for me for homework, and I thought it summed up part of the reason why I love this city rather excellently. There was something about what he wrote which sent shivers down my spine when I read it. I have corrected it a little, but I think his flair for the English language and love of his home city have still been preserved:

Berlin: be there or be square

“Harald Juhne once said: ‘I don’t have a problem with alcohol; just without it.’ That is still a good description of Berlin, the most pulsating city in the world. 

15 million people visit Berlin every year; some stay for a weekend, some for a week, and some get lost forever. 

Berlin comes with a stunning bunch of galleries, museums, low budget out-of-house exhibitions and a phenomenal nightlife including clubs like the well-known Berghain. 

Berlin: my favourite city in the world

Berlin: my favourite city in the world

Besides that, Berlin has much more to offer. It owes its reputation as the epicentre of contemporary art to its international residents: around 65% of the people living here have a foreign background. Therefore it’s not a question of what you can get for dinner, but Berlin is just asking what you want. 

Moreover, Berlin is famous for its countless flea markets where you can get everything from rare vinyls to antiques and incredibles. 

But watch out: the magic of this city convinced some of the most staunch people to stay.”

I won’t share his name, but I am very grateful to him for reminding me why I quit  my job, and left my wonderful boyfriend behind in England to pursue my Berlin dream for a little while. (And why I am SO excited to share the dream with said boyfriend this weekend when he comes to visit!)

About BerLingo

My name is Rachel, I am 25 and I love Germany. I studied German, Spanish and Italian at Durham University for four years, one of which I spent living in Europe, and then worked at Routledge academic publishing house for almost 3 years. Towards the end of 2014, I decided it was time to finally fulfil a long-held ambition to live in Berlin, and so in April 2015 I completed the CELTA qualification (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults, adminstered by Cambridge University) here in the German capital. Now qualified, my blog berlingo18.wordpress.com charts my experiences as a new English teacher in my favourite city... (More information about my plans can be found in my first ever blog post.)
This entry was posted in Berlin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

