Through, though, thorough… Pronunciation problems

Today I realised, whilst skipping between numerous ELT websites, blogs and tweets (as per usual at the moment!), that I will probably benefit from a far greater knowledge of the International Phonetic Alphabet than I currently possess, in order to help clarify the pronunciation of new words to my future students if it might help them. I’ve asked on numerous CELTA forums to what extent knowledge of the IPA is useful on the course and general consensus seems to suggest that, while not at all essential, a general working knowledge would certainly be beneficial.

To that end, I went to work (at Routledge academic publishing house, for those who might not know) and had a dig in my email archives to find messages from the wonderful Inger Mees, a phonetics scholar with whom I worked very closely on an introductory-level textbook called Practical Phonetics and Phonology (third edition) when I first started at Routledge on the linguistics list back in 2012.

I emailed Inger to tell her about my situation and asked for her advice on books I could read to learn a little bit more about phonetic transcription, and she has suggested the following:

I imagine  “Transcribing the Sound of English” (written by Paul Tench, who is an excellent phonetician) should be exactly what you want. The other book, “English Transcription Course” by Maidment and Lecumberri is older (2000), but John Maidment (retired — used to teach at UCL) is a great practical phonetician, so I think this would be a good choice as well. It’s published by Arnold.

Practical Phonetics and Phonology, Third Edition - the first proper textbook and accompanying website I worked on at Routledge

Practical Phonetics and Phonology, Third Edition – the first proper textbook and accompanying website I worked on at Routledge

And then, a wonderful addition to her email, as part of an ongoing joke that the book didn’t have to be published by Routledge, and that I would still read it if it wasn’t:

If you want something published by Routledge, it might be worth consulting Unit A3 in “Practical Phonetics and Phonology” (Collins/Mees, as you know!). There are transcription exercises on the accompanying website.

I have now got the first book and the last chapter she suggested. The latter was especially easy and cheap to acquire since it was actually one of the books propping up my computer monitor at work (oh so publishing!) because it’s a keepsake from my first job, as it’s the first book I got a mention in from the authors.

I look forward to trying to master the basics of this symbol language in the hope that it’ll serve me well on the CELTA. I shall report back!

About BerLingo

My name is Rachel, I am 25 and I love Germany. I studied German, Spanish and Italian at Durham University for four years, one of which I spent living in Europe, and then worked at Routledge academic publishing house for almost 3 years. Towards the end of 2014, I decided it was time to finally fulfil a long-held ambition to live in Berlin, and so in April 2015 I completed the CELTA qualification (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults, adminstered by Cambridge University) here in the German capital. Now qualified, my blog berlingo18.wordpress.com charts my experiences as a new English teacher in my favourite city... (More information about my plans can be found in my first ever blog post.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Through, though, thorough… Pronunciation problems

  1. T Bestwick says:

    Hi Rachel,
    Thanks for the booklist! There are also some great online resources which we recommend to our TESOL trainees here in Cádiz. Not sure I’ll be able to put in a proper link to them as I’m on my tablet (!) but I recommend having a look at the Cambridge Phonetic Focus site (http://cambridgeenglishonline.com/Phonetics_Focus) which has some great games to familiarize you with the different phonemes. Check out Adrian Underhill too – he has a site (https://adrianpronchart.wordpress.com/) and also a number of YouTube videos.
    Another book which I absolutely love is Parker/Graham’s An Introduction to the Phonology of English for Teachers of ESOL – it’s good some easy-to-follow explanations and activities.
    Hope you’re enjoying your course!
    T 🙂

    Like

    • BerLingo says:

      Hi Teresa (I found your name on your blog!),
      Thanks very much for the additional recommendations – I really appreciate it! I’m getting a bit stressed that I had such good intentions of wading through all this material before I started my CELTA (which isn’t until April), but in trying to wrap up a full-time job in academic publishing, I have been pushed for time…
      But hopefully I’ll be able to look at the Cambridge site you suggested, and I shall definitely start following Adrian Underhill’s blog. Now it’s time to head over to your own blog for a look around! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!
      I’m hoping to blog about my CELTA so I’ll let you know how it goes!
      Rachel 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Useful links for CELTA | Sandy Millin

Leave a Reply

