Warum Berlin? Reason for the crazy plan

One of my set texts for A-Level German and part of the trigger for my fascination with the history of Germany, particularly the East/West divide.

One of my set texts for A-Level German and part of the trigger for my fascination with the history of Germany, particularly the East/West divide.

I’m sure a lot of you will be wondering why I’m so keen to move to one of Europe’s less chic capital cities, so I shall try to list some of the reasons which have pulled me to Berlin on nine separate occasions already, and continue to pull me back:

– In Year 13, we read a book for A Level German which was all about a family in the DDR; former East Germany. I actually still keep in touch with my teacher from that time because she injected so much passion into our lessons and, having experienced some of former East Germany, she could really bring the period to life. I became fascinated with the time period leading up to Mauerfall, when the Berlin Wall fell, and in my opinion, there’s no place where the earlier divide is as clear as it is in Berlin. I have been many times as a tourist, but I can’t wait to have all the time in the world to explore the true history of the place: the museums, the underground tours and hopefully to meet people with some first hand experiences of living in a divided city. I also have to thank Danny Brown for being an endless source of German inspiration – if I ever glean even a fraction of the knowledge she has of Germany, I’ll be a very happy bunny.

– If you didn’t know this, you obviously haven’t met me, but I love German. I felt like I learnt an awful lot about the language on my year abroad (2010-2011) and have worked hard reading books, magazines and the news, as well as writing to multiple German friends in order to keep up my skills. However, I can’t wait to go and throw myself into the language again and hopefully master it to such a level where I never forget it. If I can get away with chatting casually with some Germans and them not guessing I’m a Brit within a few minutes then that would be the icing on my linguistic cake!

– I have been to Berlin nine times at my count so far , yet I have visited so few of the fantastic museums there. Living there will hopefully allow me and whoever else cares to join ample time to wander around the whole of Museuminsel, Museum Island, at my leisure.

– I want to do the CELTA teaching qualification to help my publishing career go in a new, more language-focused direction. I thought I’d do it in Germany because, in my previous experience, Germans love to learn English so I’m hoping I will actually get a teaching job! As I conceive this plan at the end of 2014, the end aim is to return to the UK after a fair old stint as a teacher to work in academic publishing, but we’ll have to see how much I enjoy the teaching element!

And finally, and quite simply:

– Germany is my favorite country, but there’s something intoxicating about its capital. Every time I go, I have a fantastic time but come away with even more things on my list of things to do than I went with. That list is currently enormous, and I can’t wait to get ticking!

About BerLingo

My name is Rachel, I am 25 and I love Germany. I studied German, Spanish and Italian at Durham University for four years, one of which I spent living in Europe, and then worked at Routledge academic publishing house for almost 3 years. Towards the end of 2014, I decided it was time to finally fulfil a long-held ambition to live in Berlin, and so in April 2015 I completed the CELTA qualification (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults, adminstered by Cambridge University) here in the German capital. Now qualified, my blog berlingo18.wordpress.com charts my experiences as a new English teacher in my favourite city... (More information about my plans can be found in my first ever blog post.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

