Back to the books!

During my phone interview for my CELTA place, it became incredibly apparent that the course is very, very intense. I am taking the four-week ‘intensive’ course at the Berlin School of English which, über-excitingly, overlooks Checkpoint Charlie in the heart of the city. From what I understand, this is what the course involves at a very basic level:

– a large amount of grammar work, to be completed before the course even starts (yippee! Grammar!)

– theory lessons about teaching in the mornings. For example, learning how to teach vocabulary, or learning how to introduce the future tense.

– a lunch break

– practical teaching time in the afternoons. Each class of 12 is split in half each afternoon, and six students rotate throughout the week, teaching a 45-minute lesson every second afternoon. We give feedback to each other, and receive feedback from tutors and hopefully get better and better at teaching as we go!

The assessment is continual, so I’ll need to be on my best behaviour and at my most focused at all times, which could be a challenge after 2.5 years out of university…(Gosh,  is it really that long?!)

If you’re still interested, the more official format of a typical day can be seen below, which I have unashamedly stolen from the website:

  • 09:00 – 10:25: Input session #1 (e.g. learning about how to introduce and practice a new area of grammar)
  • 10:35 – 12:00: Input session #2 (e.g. improving your students’ pronunciation or learning about basic literacy)
  • 12:00 – 13:00: Lunch break
  • 13:00 – 13:45: Feedback on Teaching Practice from the previous day
  • 13:45 – 14:15: Guidance for the next day’s Teaching Practice
  • 14:15 – 15:00: Break
  • 15:00 – 17:10: Teaching Practice
  • 17:10 – 18:00: Feedback on Teaching Practice (Fridays)

It’ll be interesting to see how my experiences match up with my understanding of and reading about the course. I hope to blog about it here, time permitting…

About BerLingo

My name is Rachel, I am 25 and I love Germany. I studied German, Spanish and Italian at Durham University for four years, one of which I spent living in Europe, and then worked at Routledge academic publishing house for almost 3 years. Towards the end of 2014, I decided it was time to finally fulfil a long-held ambition to live in Berlin, and so in April 2015 I completed the CELTA qualification (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults, adminstered by Cambridge University) here in the German capital. Now qualified, my blog berlingo18.wordpress.com charts my experiences as a new English teacher in my favourite city... (More information about my plans can be found in my first ever blog post.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

